VDSL....or not?

Discussion in 'Interference Problems' started by 2E0OPQ, Aug 13, 2018.

1. 2E0OPQ

2E0OPQ New Member

Hi,

I've only been active since late 2017, so I'm not that experienced - please be gentle :) Just got the 2E call last week.

I have about S7 noise from apx 1.3 to 18MHz. I've listened online to serveral examples of interference (PLT etc) and none fit the bill. It's just 'noise'. It's present on both my OFCD and wellbrook loop.

I've powered down the whole house and robbed the car battery - no effect, and have been trying to DF with an VR500 and improvised loop.

After chasing ghosts and getting absolutely nowhere. I stood directly underneath my neighbours phone line (flies over garden), and it appears that is the source.

But so is my line (other side of house), it's exactly the same, even with VDSL modem disconnected.

However, I can't find any evidence of the VDSL guard bands from either my main rig or scanner in the garden.

What else I can do to narrow it down? I'm sure my "loop and scanner" isn't the most sophisticated equipment. I did have an issue with my transmissions knocking out my internet connection, but that was resolved by using the old BT supplied NTE instead of a cheap VDSL modem. However, I didn't see any 4KHz spaced retraining carriers at the time (FT-991A waterfall).

Regards,

Mat.
  2. Ken G3SDW

Ken G3SDW Moderator

Hi Matt, this is what you need to know about identifying VDSL.

The EMC Committee is carrying out an investigation of the significance of interference to amateur radio from leakage from VDSL systems. The emissions from VDSL are continuous and indistinguishable from white noise and may go unnoticed.