Low HF Bands wiped out by mainsbourne Interference

Discussion in 'Interference Problems' started by Colin B Wilkinson, Feb 9, 2020.

1. Colin B Wilkinson

Colin B Wilkinson New Member

Hi to all,
    I have just signed up to your forum because after 31 years as a radio amateur i am completely stumped with the intensity of this mainsbourne interference.
    It starts on the long wave band all the way through to the 40m band. the interference is white noise, my noise floor is between -30 dBm and -40 dBm, 24/7 it never stops unless there is a complete mains outage like there was this morning because of the bad storms, it was absolute heaven (silence is golden).
    This has been going on since before Christmas approx 3 months, i have tried all the usual things like switching my mains off, it was still the same. ive checked with my neighbours on both sides and all seems ok.
    I have sampled the mains with my homebrew spectrum analyser and it is definitely on the mains and is very strong.
    The interference does spike at 160m 80m and 40m so i suppose it could be Ethernet over mains on steroids!!
    I look forward to any suggestions as to what i can do about this problem.

Colin G0NQE
  2. Ken G3SDW

Ken G3SDW Moderator

Hi Colin, thanks for posting on the Forum.

You say its mains born, if that is the case then i assume that with all antennas disconnected it is still there.

Good on turning off your mains, what about both your neighbors, you only say all seems OK, they will need to turn off there mains supply too, and off i meant at the main fuse box.

Ethernet over mains, doubt it as amateur bands are notched.

If it is as you say on the mains supply then what sort of mains filtering are you using?
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2020
  3. Colin B Wilkinson

Hi Ken,