20 metre Intereferenc

Discussion in 'Interference Problems' started by Graham Allen, Jan 16, 2018.

1. Graham Allen

Graham Allen New Member

Hi. Over the Christmas period I observed severe interference on 20 metres. I do have to admit that I only use this band once in a Sheffield flood. I have tracked the source of the interference down to my neighbours PLASMA LG television. He is a very amiable guy, so I said I would do some research to find out what part of the TV might be generating the interfetence, my guess would be the SMPS but I am no expert in this field. If it is the SMPS I guess the first thing to do would be to fit some type of ferrite core to the mains lead, just not sure what type & how many terms. I will attempt to attach a screen shot of the interference.
    Regards Graham. DFF71473-CCA4-439D-83E7-689602345B14.jpeg
    Ken G3SDW likes this.
  2. Ken G3SDW

Ken G3SDW Moderator

Sorry to be the giver of bad tidings Graham but this problem with Plasma TV no matter what make it is once it reaches a certain age is quite normal.

It is not faulty but doing just more than it should as once it gets to a certain age , something like 2 years plus then the Plasma panel starts to drop in output and the drive to the panel is ramped up causing spillage from the glass seals around the edge of the panel.

There sadly is no cure to stop this other than to replace the TV, i know this as many years ago in my position as an EMC adviser tackled the problem with the three manufacturers ie Samsung, Panasonic and LG, other than LG then the other two agreed to replace the TV with an LED type at no cost but sadly LG just did not want to get involved.

This arrangement lasted for several years and manged to get replacements for a vast amount of amateurs some sets being there own and some who had two sets all with no problem at all.on a couple of case i managed to arrange for this to be done in Scandinavian and one in New Zealand.